Tea in Pajamas by Rachel Tey [CLOSED]

TIP

Rachel Tey, an editor who works in academic publishing, recently sent me a copy of her beautifully designed and illustrated self-published middle-grade book, Tea in Pajamas, an allegorical representation of her recovery journey from an eating disorder. The book follows the adventures of Belle Marie and her best friend, Tess, and their adventures in Belzerac, a Wonderland-like place inhabited by blue forests and talking animals. It’s a gentle, evocative story that successfully explores a pretty heavy topic, and I enjoyed it very much.

I asked Rachel why she choose to tell her story in this fantastic way, rather than in a realistic, contemporary, and culturally-specific manner. “I share my recovery story in my ongoing online series in a more contemporary and realistic way [on my site],” she told me. In her author’s note, she elaborates: “For a time, I had thought about writing a long, detailed account of this challenging period, and perhaps one day I will. However, the idea of ‘coming home to myself’ was also essentially about being reacquainted with that child in me, and I have always wanted to write a children’s book, especially one that might connect with readers on a deeper level.”

Tea in Pajamas is available locally at Booktique  and Tango Mango, and online at Amazon. The ebook is available at AmazonApple iBooksBarnes & NobleKoboBlio, and Smashwords.

HOWEVER, I have a copy for giveaway (thanks to Rachel)!  To win a copy of Tea in Pajamas, leave ONE comment below. (Entries without an email address will be disqualified. Multiple entires will be disqualified.) This giveaway is open to my readers in Singapore only and will close on January 20, 2016 at 12:00AM UTC/GMT +8 hours. Three winners will be chosen by random.org and be announced on January 22, 2016. Good luck!

Many thanks to all who entered!

The lucky winner of this set of books is… yulingexpress (comment #3)!  Congratulations, yulingexpress! I will be emailing you shortly for your mailing address.

3 responses

  1. Sounds like an amazing book!
    As a person who still struggles with an eating disorder, I’m curious to see how Rachel has tackled such a heavy topic as this in a children’s book.