Binary Style

RD1_rainy_day_in_singapore_large

photo1_KP1_large

Image_3_large

I’m often asked, usually by fellow Americans in Singapore, for ideas for souvenirs for friends and family back home. More often than not, I usually recommend books set in Singapore and/or by Singaporean authors. Other items on this list: ceramics, photographs, stationery, and clothing and accessories, all inspired by Singapore…

… which is how I stumbled upon Binary Style, a line of scarves designed by Santhi and Sari Tunas, Indonesia-born, architect twins now based in Singapore. Those of you who know me IRL know that I’ve never met a scarf that I didn’t like. While traveling, my favorite silk scarves have served as shawl, belt, head-wrap, stuffed toy swaddle, and doll sling. Of Binary Style’s inaugural collection, I particularly liked (from top to bottom): “A Rainy Day in Singapore,” “Keppel Port,” and “Canoeing Day in McRitchie.” Their other designs are lovely too, but rather predictable and/or literal.

The Tunas’ sisters wares retail for SG$50.00 to SG$75.00 and are currently sold online at HipVan Singapore.

Follow Binary Style on Instagram.