National Poetry Month 2015

TLTNPM

Each April, in celebration of National Poetry Month, I challenge myself to read more poetry! Many of my friends are poets, yet I don’t read much in the genre. *hangs head in shame*

In 2014, I posted 30 of my favorite poems to Facebook, many by American poets of color. This year, I am reading several collections by Singapore poets, including Picasso’s Tears (Octopus Books, 2014) by Wong May, They hear salt crystallising (firstfruits publications, 2010) by Teng Qian Xi, and One Fierce Hour (Landmark Books, 1998) and A History of Amnesia (Ethos Books, 2001) by Alfian Sa’at.

Recommendations for other Singapore poetry collections I should read this month (and beyond)? Leave them in the comments!

 

 

One response

  1. I highly recommend reading Roger Jenkins’ ‘From the Belly of the Carp: Singapore River Voices’. It won the Singapore Literature Prize when it came out, and has also been dramatized for the stage. The performance I saw was wonderful. Full disclosure: he’s a friend, and we performed improv comedy together for 10 years, but I wouldn’t mention it if I didn’t admire it. Roger was in fact born in Singapore, and returned after being educated in the UK. He’s now a professional storyteller and teacher of storytelling. You can see more about the book here: https://www.opendemocracy.net/arts-shorelines/article_1992.jsp.