Postcard from Chennai at momfilter

 

chennai1

chennai2

I’m once again over at momfilter, a lifestyle blog for families created by Pilar Guzmán and Yolanda Edwards, the founding editors of the now-defunct but still-beloved Cookie Magazine. “Postcard from Chennai” is the fourth of several short reflections on travel and family.

An excerpt:

As a child, I did not fly anywhere except to visit India, the country from where my parents emigrated to the United States. Air travel in the late ‘80s and early ‘90s was inconvenient and expensive and, as immigrants, any travel was a luxury.

On those trips to India, in 1982, 1987, 1990, and 1996, I became fluent in a language and a culture that continues to inform my self in profound ways. It cost my parents plenty of time and hard-earned money, but travel to India was their greatest gift.

My daughter, A, now three-years-old, has already been to India five times! We are based in Singapore, where flights from the Southeast Asian city-state to India’s major cities are plentiful and affordable.

I tell friends and family back home that our ability to travel to India for a weekend, as we did this Lunar New Year long weekend, is, by far, the best aspect of living in Asia, especially as we raise our third-culture child to be aware of and appreciative of both her American and Indian identities.

We recently spent several days in Chennai, the capital city of the southern state of Tamil Nadu. My parents-in-law, who retired several years ago and now spend winters in India and summers in Western New York, joined us.

Continue reading “Postcard from Chennai.”