Timmy and Tammy: A Giveaway [CLOSED]

CombinedSet_TimmyTammy2

I wrote about a new-ish series of books, Timmy and Tammy by Ruth Wan-Lau and illustrated by Eliz Ong, here. And while I continue to have issues with how few commercially-published fiction titles feature non-Chinese children as protagonists in realistic, contemporary settings (as detailed here), I also admit that Timmy and Tammy are well-loved in the notabilia household.

The Toddler is beginning to read high frequency sight words, or words she can automatically recognize in print without having to use any strategies to decode, and the series’ Level 1 books are perfect for my emergent reader. She loves spotting the familiar sights of her adopted home, such as the Botanic Gardens and Changi Airport. But her favorite book of this set is Make Pineapple Tarts, as she just assisted in making a batch for the Lunar New Year in preschool!

o o o o o

The kind folks at Armour Publishing have sent me a set of five Timmy and Tammy books to give to one of you—Make Pineapple Tarts, At the Botanic Gardens, At Changi Airport, At Chinatown, At the River SafariTo win, leave ONE comment below. (Entries without an email address will be disqualified. Multiple entires will be disqualified.)

This giveaway is open to my readers in Singapore only and will close on March 4, 2015 at 12:00AM UTC/GMT +8 hours. This giveaway is now closed. The winner will be chosen by random.org and be announced on March 6, 2015.

26 responses

  1. These titles look exciting, even for adults! Looking forward to bonding with my kids, reading the stories together.

  2. Thanks for hosting the giveaway. We enjoy reading to our toddler and this set will make a great addition to her book collection.

  3. Reading is such a good way to bond with your kid, I love the concentration and focus and anticipation on my girl’s face as I read and turn the pages. Hope to be able to introduce Timmy and Tammy to her!

  4. Hope to add this books to my boys collection as the books are very relevant to our daily lives! **fingers crossed **

  5. Reading is an enjoyable activity for both my 4 yo and 2 yo. I started reading to both of them since they were born. They love simple story that relate to them like Yeeta goes to playground. Thanks to Timmy & Tammy series which has stories like At Changi Airport, At the Botanic Gardens, At Chinatown and etc that they can relate to now.

  6. My toddler just turned 18 months and she is so keen in reading all kinds of books and learning how to identify all the items when read to her. It will be very Interesting to read these books to her.

  7. Hope to win this set of books for 6 year old boy. He is proud to read to his little sister (4). Hope to win this local book. It would interest him and motivate him to read often.

  8. It would be such a lovely gift for girls, 3 & 5. I can imagine how excited they’ll be to read stories linked to places they are so familiar with.

  9. Truly uniquely Singapore! Great set of books for my kiddo who’s now starting to learn how to read on her own.

  10. I’m currently homeschooling my girl and would like to include this in my lesson plan. I’m planning on reading the book to her and then bringing her to various places (like the Botanic Gardens) or to do the activities (like baking pineapple tarts) together with her to have a real-hands on experience as well as to foster our family bonding! Definitely looking forward to this! But before we get there, can I win the books first please? :)