Punggol Point

10996384_10153814821161808_8370121076432226792_n

In my ongoing quest to find calm and healing near bodies of water, I “discovered” Punggol Point.

I had spent a soggy afternoon at the newly-opened Punggol Waterway, a 4.2-kilometer long man-made canal that connects the Sungei Punggol and Sungei Serangoon reservoirs, in 2011, but had not ventured back since, despite frequenting nearby Pasir Ris. In 2011, I asked, “Who knows how much longer this area will stay relatively undeveloped? Blink and this city transforms itself.” Over two years on, surrounding Punggol New Town, a sprawling housing estate on the edges of the island, has grown, ever-encroaching on acres and acres of lush, tropical secondary forest.

Yesterday, I ventured past Punggol Waterway Park to beautiful Punggol Jetty Park and walked along Punggol Point Walk, a winding boardwalk from where one can see Pulau Serangoon and Pulau Ubin, towards Punggol Beach, where, in 1942, 200 Chinese civilians were killed as part of the Sook Ching Massacre.

It was really the best and I can’t wait to go back again.