Bollywood Dance

Bombay-Talkies

Longtime readers of this blog know that I love Singapore’s many Community Centres (CCs). The CCs have become, for me, a place to gather, to work, to celebrate, to teach. Recently, I’ve turned to the CCs in my neighborhood to learn.

Singapore’s CCs run a range of sports, arts, and lifestyle classes and I’ve been exploring their dance offerings. Music and movement bring me much peace and joy and dance is something I prioritize in my busy life.

Last weekend, I attended a “Bollywood” dance with Sussan De, DJ, singer, dancer, and choreographer. She taught original choreography to “Party All Night,” “Yo Yo” Honey Singh’s popular club anthem. 

Dance classes at the CCs are far cheaper than classes at private studios; CC membership is SG$12 for five years and Sussan’s series of four classes costs SG$60.

o o o o o

CCs around town also offer Burlesque, Chinese dance, hip hop, Bharatnatyam, bellydance, Salsa, tap, and others styles. What piques your interest?