Ceramic Bamboo Tea Cups by Weekend Worker Featuring Ong Su Loon

df92db8b-14b0-4008-8dad-e1f0ac9a4e9f

You all know that I really dig ceramics. Several months ago, this crowdsourced project by Weekend Worker (featuring Ong Su Loon) on Haystakt, a Singapore-based online curated marketplace, caught my eye. Haystakt aims to “[reintroduce] the human touch to the marketplace.” To that end, buyers forge relationships by conversing with the site’s makers and curators and view videos and photographs of the creative process. I funded the production of two tea cups.

I just received, in the mail, my delicate and gorgeous tea cups whose interior was cast using bamboo stems, thus preserving the organic shape and texture of the woody stem.

Weekend Worker is a ceramist collective that is made up of three Singaporeans; Ong Su Loon is a part-time ceramist who has been crafting for nearly a decade. A unique feature of many of his works involves the exposure of the original clay itself juxtaposed with various glazes.

I can’t wait to use my cups! Anyone care for tea?