Naiise

Screen Shot 2014-05-10 at 11.27.59 AM

Naiisea Singapore-based online curated marketplace, is my new destination for carefully chosen, well-designed, quality goods. I frequently find myself browsing their Eat Local and Go Local tabs, for Singapore-made treats, like Almost Perfect Coconut Gula Melaka Granola  and Riesling Tea, and tchotchkes, like Singapura Greeting Cards and HDB Series Set Tableware.

The team at Naiise recently asked me to curate a collection of “essentials” for the creative professional/work at home parent, and I happily obliged. Shop my picks here, and read a quick Q&A with me here. An excerpt:

3. Thank you for curating this collection. What does design mean to you?

Well-designed goods are made by someone I respect and admire, remind me of a person, place, or time that means something to me, or make my life better in a functional or practical way.

4. How may design be relevant to children too?

I think it is important for children to not see “design” just as something to be consumed. Design is not a list of things to buy; design is an appreciation of what one can do with one’s own two hands.

o o o o o

And to those who were, are, will, and want to be mothers: Happy Mother’s Day.