NoQ Store

0107cf6e-79a0-445f-8e17-f27b6ccb1bb0

Last week’s Online Bookstores in Singapore post was very popular! I’m thrilled that many of you found it so useful.

After its publication, NoQ Store reached out to me, offered me a SG$40.00 voucher, and asked me to write a more detailed review of my shopping experience for you, dear readers.

So, I logged onto the site and began to browse their “Asian Titles” section. Since moving East, I’ve been adding as many regional titles as I can to my bookshelves and e-bookshelves. These are books that are not always easy to find in the U.S.

I bought: Hush! a Thai Lullaby by Minfong Ho and illustrated by Holly Meade, a picture book (SG$7.35); Clear Brightness by Boey Kim Cheng, a book of poetry (SG$17.06); and 23 Things They Don’t Tell You about Capitalism by Ha-Joon Chang, a nonfiction title (SG$16.84). Taxes equaled to SG$2.89. Shipping is free in Singapore.

I will say that the browsing experience was somewhat cumbersome. Shoppers can only search by title, author, ISBN, or publisher; the “advanced search” does now allow for a keyword search. Similarly, on a product page, shoppers can not click on an author’s name and be directed to his/her other works; one has to cut and paste the author’s name in the search box. Irritating, especially when other e-railers (*cough* Evil Amazon.com *cough*) offer a much more user-friendly browsing experience. TL;DR: Shop here only if you know exactly what you want.

My books will be delivered within seven to fourteen working days. I will update this post once I have received them.

o o o o o

FYI: readers of notabilia receive a 15% discount on all purchases at NoQ Store when you use code NOTABILIA at checkout. Have fun shopping!