Online Bookstores in Singapore

7007_6f40

I read at least a book a week, if not more. I scour the shelves of the library for new reads, or Amazon.com *hangs head in shame* for e-books.

But, I also buy books from Singapore retailers and e-tailers, despite the expense. (New books are considerably more expensive in Singapore than in the States.)

My favorite independent bookstores are BooksActually, Littered with Books, GOHD Books, and Woods in the Books. As for shopping from the comfort of my own home (a necessity, IMO, as a parent), I turn to:

OpenTrolley Bookstore is Singapore’s largest online bookstore, with more than ten million new books at somewhat discounted prices. OpenTrolley offers “quick” delivery of four to seven working days, and allows payment by credit/debit cards, PayPal, and local bank transfer. For shoppers who wish to save on shipping/handling, OpenTrolley allows buyers to collect books at their partner store at Plaza Singapura, 7th Floor. OpenTrolley is where I turn to for commonly-available books, such as fiction bestsellers and travel guides.

NoQ is another large online bookstore, with a million titles at heavily discounted prices (up to 50% off retail). It is the online bookstore of Times Publishing Group, and promises shopping without the hassles of “lining up and queuing”, hence: “NoQ.” Geddit? So Singaporean! NoQ offers delivery of seven to fourteen working days and free shipping (in Singapore), and allows payment by credit/debit cards, PayPal, and NETS. (Full disclosure: NOQ offered me a SG$30.00 store voucher in 2013; I spent it on a cookbook!)

Groovy Giraffe is Singapore’s first online remainder store, and specializes in books for young readers. “Remainder books” are overstock and overprint books, and are heavily discounted (up to 85% off retail). Groovy Giraffe offers delivery of three (!) working days and free shipping for orders above SG$60.00, and allows payment by credit/debit cards and PayPal. I’ve bought a slew of classic children’s titles from Groovy Giraffe, including books that display minor shelf wear and/or remainder markings but are otherwise brand new books, for mere dollars! (A book’s condition is reflected clearly under each book’s description.)

BooksActually and GOHD Books also sell their wares online. BooksActually offers delivery of five to ten working days and free shipping (in Singapore), and allows payment by credit/debit cards and PayPal. I’ve bought several new Math Paper Press releases via BookActually’s online bookstore. GOHD Books offers delivery of forty-eight hours (for books in stock) to seven working days and free shipping (in Singapore), and allows payment by credit/debit cards, PayPal, local bank transfer, check, or cash. To pay by cash, shoppers must collect their books at 175 Bencoolen Street, #01-37 Burlington Square. GOHD Books is my go-to bookstore for used, rare, and out-of-print books.

Where do you buy your books? Did I miss your favorite store? Leave your suggestions in the comments!

4 responses

  1. Great list. I mostly buy from Bookdepository.co.uk. Not books but for magazines, I really like allscript.com or magazines1source.com (they also run the physical Read More Pay Less stores).

  2. I find myself buying from The Book Depository as well. In addition to free shipping, they have more titles and a quick search showed that a book I want (My Paris Kitchen: Recipes and Stories) is about S$10 cheaper.

  3. Thanks for this! They’ve recently closed the bookstore in my neighborhood, which has made me quite sad and Popular has chosen to be rather disappointing on carrying what I need, despite it’s popularity (har har har).