Koonhor by Catrine The and Koon Lim

I was recently chatting with a friend and lamenting to her that I found many local labels innovative and interesting but much too casual and youthful for a thirtysomething like me. Later than day, I chanced upon Koohnor (formerly known as Aperçu), a Paris-based label by Singaporean designers Catrine The and Koon Lim.

Their S/S 2012 collection is a riot of bold colours and digital prints inspired by eccentric Austrian artist Friedensreich Hundertwasser’s work. The “Vienna” satin georgette dress (above) is my favorite piece in the collection. It reminds me of this stunning “Marina Grande-Print” dress by Akris. I look forward to Koonhor’s F/W 2012 collection which promises “boxy tops in bonded fabric with special finishings; outerwear crafted from buttery-soft lambskin, and streamlined silk and wool dresses that exude strong femininity.

o o o o o

Singapore friends, are there other local designers who you recommend who create fashion-forward clothes suitable for the, ahem, older consumer?

(Additional credits: Photograph via Koohnor; lace frames via Pugly Pixel.)

One response