Carpenter and Cook

I finally visited Carpenter and Cook, a cafe and vintage furniture store in Upper Bukit Timah.

Carpenter and Cook is the brainchild of three friends who met in London: Phoebe Teo, Sim Li-Shenn, and Eunice Yeo. The store specializes in vintage homeware and furniture imported directly from the United Kingdom. Their products range from small knick-knacks such as dainty porcelain tea cups to wooden chapel chairs individually re-upholstered by “carpenter” Teo (*swoon*).

“Cook” Sim trained at Cordon Bleu London and honed her skills at artisan bakery, Cocomaya. She bakes a limited quantity of sweet and savory light bites on-premises. I sampled her mushroom and onion quiche and chocolate chip muffin. The quiche was exquisite. (I consider myself somewhat of a quiche connoisseur.) I regret that I did not have a bite of her Lemon Drizzle Cake.

Yeo is the team’s “and.” Long-time readers of this blog may remember her recipe for pandan kaya cake. She is a talented baker, photographer, and stylist. “[I love] making things look pretty,” she says. “And am very glad to be able to do [it] daily.”

The trio have amassed more than 500 vintage items which are now stored in the store’s basement and will be rotated for display in the cafe space above. “We want to keep it as a live space, where the layout changes often so customers will get to see something new every time they come in,” Yeo told the Business Times.

I will return again and again, if just to admire the stunning, fully-restored habidashery cabinet.

Carpenter and Cook also offers event services such as prop rental, styling, and catering. I want to plan a celebration just so I can have sweet treats served on pieces from the store! Ladies, do you do children’s parties *scheming, scheming*?

(Additional credits: Photographs via Carpenter and Cook’s Facebook page; photo layout via Pugly Pixel.)

2 responses

  1. Carpenter & Cook is located at an estate above mine. Now I can exclaim that there are nice cafes in the West of Singapore! (Though, I admit, the prices aren’t friendly to the wallet. But after hearing about the process and ingredients used, I’m sold!)