Singapore Arts Festival 2012

Image

I had a blast at last year’s Singapore Arts Festival. I attended two events in the Festival Village: Nitin Sawhney and The Last Days of Meaning and the DJ Tigerstyle Showcase. Yes, I had issues with the venue. But, hey, shows in the Village are free this year!* My picks?

– Huzzah! More drum ‘n’ bass! Circle of Sound by Soumik Datta and Bernhard Schimpelsberger fuses the sounds of the sarod (a lute used in classical North Indian music) and the Western drum kit. Can. Not. Wait.

– My mother-in-law introduced me to Theyyam, an ancient ritual form of Hindu worship performed in the North Malabar region of Kerala. (William Dalrymple writes beautifully about theyyam in his travelogue, Nine Lives: In Search of the Sacred in Modern India.) I saw a spectacular display of theyyam in New York City years ago and look forward to seeing this sacred dance again in Singapore.

– I caught one quarter of the T’ang Quartet in December; now, I hope to hear the entire ensemble! A Musical Snapshot of Nostalgia is a celebration of Singapore’s traditional folk songs.

– I’m curious about Flame of the Forest, a trio of brothers who jam on the sitar, tabla, and violin. Their repertoire includes jazz, pop, and Chinese music.

– And I’ll likely drop by Public Garden Flea Market, too.

o o o o o

* There are ticketed shows as well. Download the festival guide (PDF) for more information.

One response

  1. I’ve been remiss about checking up on the ArtsFest, so thanks for this reminder. Circle Of Sound looks awesome. I’m also very excited about Flame of the Forest. I last saw them perform when I was in my teens, and remember enjoying them very much at the time – granted, about 17 years have passed since then and it’s certainly possible my music tastes have changed in the meantime, but in a way that only makes me even more curious to check them out!