Words Go Round 2012

A bit of shameless self-promotion…

I’m thrilled and honored to be a part of Words Go Round 2012, the Singapore Writers Festival School Programme. WGR runs from February 27, 2012 to March 10, 2012 and offers students and teachers a chance to get up close and personal with their favorite writers.

I’ll be conducting two writing workshops: Shades of Gray: Writing About Race and I Have a Dream: Writing for Social Change. Both are suitable for the secondary school and/or junior college classroom. The former workshop discusses writing as a vehicle for discussing and deconstructing race and a bridge to understand and overcome our differences. The latter workshop sees writing as a form of activism and recognizes the role of words in building a movement for social change.

o o o o o

The festival also boasts several public events, including an evening with Garth Nix, author of the brilliant Abhorsen trilogy, on February 9, 2012 from 7-8pm at The Arts House. More information here.

3 responses

  1. 1. Garth Nix! I find my usually fastidious reading persona very forgiving of the occasional missteps in his prose (‘incipient’ is a Frequently Overused Word, alas) because I love his entire Old Kingdom universe so much! Heroic necromancers, fantasy zombies (predating George R.R. Martin’s shuffling ice zombies, by-the-bye), and, of course, terrific female leads.

    2. Your workshops sound fantastic – I will shill for them as vociferously as I can with the teachers I know! A lot of great discussion has been taking place on race and social justice in literature, and there is such a wonderful range of writers and fen of colour weighing in, but it’s not a well-known topic among some youth hereabouts, so reading the Words Go Round programme booklet has made me fairly enthusiastic.