Espiritu Flamenco by Flamenco Sin Fronteras

On a tip from Sin Lady, I attended Los Tarantos‘ performing company’s end-of-year showcase on Saturday. Flamenco Sin Fronteras’ short program, Espiritu Flamenco, was held at the Goodman Arts Centre Black Box, a 128-seat theatre, a perfect venue for Saturday’s experimental, cerebral double bill.

Part I, The House Plus, presented excerpts from a work-in-progress adaptation of a Federico Garcia Lorca play. Part II, Sketches of Spain, offered viewers an interpretation of dance classics, including a brilliant piece of choreography to Pink Martini’s rendition of Ravel’s “Bolero.” (Sunday’s performance, Flamenco Puro, featured “traditional” flamenco; I wish I had bought tickets for both days!)

o o o o o

After the performance, Sin Lady and I chatted about the local dance scene. She introduced me to Tilly Ng, co-owner of Dance on Us, and Chang Hsiao Min, an accomplished belly dancer and choreographer, both of whom preformed that afternoon. We also spoke about the various Flamenco schools on the island and events on the calendar—including Feria de Abriland the lack of talented male dancers. (Maestro Antonio Vargas, Los Tarantos’ artistic director, lamented about this as well. Toshi Konno is the only male dancer in Flamenco Sin Fronteras.)

o o o o o

So, on my way home that day, I thought to myself, It’s taken me a while to find a dance community here similar to the one I had back home. But, I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: I categorically reject all claims that Singapore is “boring.” Sure, the arts and culture scene isn’t all-consuming as it is in cities like New York or London, but it’s there, if you look hard enough (or have a local friend point you in the right direction). Dig a bit. I assure you that the Lion City isn’t just a clean, orderly, prissy town full of soulless capitalists.

4 responses

  1. i am so glad you came. i look forward to introducing the other dance communities to you :). most definitely you must come with us to the feria in april!

  2. Cool! I took a Sevillanas class at the Esplanade, and it was harder than I thought it would be. Looking to take up a new dance in the future =).