Punggol Waterway

Imp and I spent our soggy afternoon at the newly-opened Punggol Waterway, AKA My Waterway@Punggol, a 4.2-kilometer long man-made canal that connects the Sungei Punggol and Sungei Serangoon reservoirs.

The waterway didn’t captivate me as much as the landscape surrounding Punggol New Town, a sprawling housing estate on the edges of the island. We saw acres and acres of lush, tropical secondary forest and brilliant gas flares from nearby oil refineries. (This is Singapore, after all.)

Who knows how much longer this area will stay relatively undeveloped? Blink and this city transforms itself. But, at least for now, a few very lucky residents of Punggol New Town can enjoy this beautiful juxtaposition of organic and industrial shapes.

o o o o o

A few words to mark a milestone: I’ve now ridden all four Singapore MRT lines from end-to-end. I completed the North South Line (Marina Bay to Jurong East and back) and the East West Line (Pasir Ris to Joo Koon and back) eons ago. Just last week, I rode the Circle Line (Harbourfront to Dhoby Ghaut) and today, the North East Line. Now, onto all the bus routes…