My Singapore: Camy and Michelle of Coffee Table People

I do the cafe* thing… a lot. Coffee shops are the best places, IMHO, to hold meetings, to network, to conduct interviews. Ah, the life of a freelancer.

o o o o o

“Your cup of coffee. If not, your tea.” So reads the tagline for one of my new favorite reads, Coffee Table People. Bloggers and photographers, Camy and Michelle, suss out hidden and not-so-hidden cafes in Singapore and beyond. I’m a huge fan of their Cafespotting column, which features unique cafes from around the world (with a particular emphasis on Asia).

Today, I’m delighted to welcome Camy and Michelle to notabilia to share their Singapore with you. To Camy and Michelle…

o o o o o

Must-eats?

Camy: This is a tough one! My girlfriends and I recently had an amazing chilli and prawn pizza at Kilo. Also, I always get awesome kebabs at Kebab Station or Istanbul Gourmet with my family.

Michelle: My family loves seafood and our favourite place to go is the Original Seafood Paradise Restaurant, nestled deep within the Ubi industrial estate. We gorge ourselves on the amazing and very sinful creamy butter crab with lots of fried mantous to wipe up every trace of that delicious sauce. For something a little healthier, I like to go to Onaka for their teriyaki chicken salad (that I introduced C to).

Camy: Loved Onaka! Definitely having that on my list of faves too!

Must-shops?

Camy: I am amazingly geeky about food so the most shopping I do is food-related. I love visiting Pantry Magic and Phoon Huat. We both love hitting thrift stores around the island. *Michelle nods enthusiastically*. We recommend New2U Shop, Salvation Army (Bukit Timah) and Something Old Something New. I also love picking up random coffee table books at The Little Drom Store.

Michelle: My favourite local shop is Cat Socrates. The little piece of dream is filled with postcards, notebooks, cotton totes, housewares, tin toys, toy and vintage cameras, and my favourite brand of film in the world, Ferrania Solaris. When I am hunting for a new camera, I do so via the forum at Lomotion.

Must-dos?

Camy: Singapore gets a little claustrophobic at times. I pick up coffee at Loysel’s Toy. Or enjoy good music at Crazyworld Cafe. I absolutely love walking around and exploring the Chinatown/Ann Siang Hill/Duxton/Tanjong Pagar area. Too many treasures!

Michelle: I enjoy hanging out at Tea Party Cafe. I have spent many an evening in this cozy cafe, unwinding after a hard day’s work and tucking into a hearty bowl of pasta (my favourite is the aglio olio), home-baked scones for dessert, and a heartwarming cup of tea.

o o o o o

* I do the kopitiam thing, too.

Need directions? Check out notabilia’s My Singapore guide!

Know a creative person who wants to share his or her must-stop spots with my readers? Please email all suggestions to me with the subject line ‘My Singapore.’

(Additional credits: Photographs provided by Camy and Michelle of Coffee Table People.)