MAAD [UPDATED]

I visited MAAD (Market for Artists and Designers) last December, barely weeks after we moved to Singapore. Our bags weren’t fully unpacked and I decided to run off to a local handmade market. (Yes, my priorities are a little whack.) Then, I didn’t know much about the independent design scene in Singapore; MAAD was a great introduction to several local labels.

Fast-forward eight months. On Friday night, I popped by MAAD’s inaugural “MAAD Pyjamas” night. Now, I know quite a bit about local design. I’ve been fortunate enough to meet, collaborate with, or cover (on this blog) so many of Singapore’s creative talents. I went to support my friends and catch up with a few colleagues.

Red Dot Design Museum was packed and the room had great energy. Craft, drinks, music, presidential candidates*, and artisanal ice cream all make for an excellent night. The dates for the next MAAD have not been announced, but I assume it will be in early- to mid-September. The next MAAD will be on September 9.

o o o o o

Next week, I’ll be checking out Public Garden, a new monthly market launching on August 20. I’m getting a Brooklyn Flea-kinda vibe.

* For my readers based outside Singapore: the city-state is holding presidential elections at the end of August. Two of four candidates visited MAAD Pyjamas.

(Additional credits: Clockwise, from upper left-hand corner: “Moustache George” by Cookie Cutter, floral make-up pouch by Etincelle Creative Studio, Organic Apple t-shirt by Bon Chatnatural ruby cabochon with sterling silver lacy heart filigree by My Vintage Jewel Box; scallop medallion via Pugly Pixel.)