Nostalgia is the Most Powerful Seasoning by Joycelyn Shu: A Reader Survey and a Giveaway [UPDATED]

Yet another blog to add to your reader: Kuidaore: Cooking & Eating to Surfeited Collapse by Joycelyn Shu. The blog’s author is a fashion and beauty editor turned writer and stylist. When not behind the scenes art directing fashion shoots for Revolution, a luxury glossy, Joycelyn can be found in the kitchen baking for therapy, on the couch obsessing over recipes from her 500-plus-and-counting cookbook collection, next to her laptop rambling about her culinary trials and tribulations on Kuidaore, or creating made-to-order desserts at Gateaux Fabulous, a bespoke dessert service.

In her first book, Nostalgia is the Most Powerful Seasoning, Joycelyn writes, “This book, then, is not so much about what I cook as why I cook. The lessons I have the privilege to learn, observing from the sidelines of my grandmother’s kitchen, are too many to list, much less finish writing about. But I hope the essays [that follow] go towards elucidating some, if not all, the most useful learning points. Some of the ideas and much of the sentiment behind the essays first found an airing on my blog. Here, I have had the luxury of space, ink, and paper to deliberate and elaborate.”

This slim paperback is not a cookbook, but includes a selection of recipes: sambal belachan, tau cheo sauce, achar (yum!), mee siam, Hokkien hae mee, and more.

o o o o o

I have a copy and I’d love to give it to you! All I ask is that you fill out my quick reader survey. You’ve learned quite a bit about me over the past seven months; now I’d like to know more about you! notabilia, to me, is about community and I want to know if I am doing a good job cultivating it. Any feedback, suggestions, dreams, or ideas that you have are welcome. Please be honest, courteous, and constructive with your feedback.

To be eligible to “win” a copy of Nostalgia is the Most Powerful Seasoning by Joycelyn Shu, you must fill out the “name” and “address” fields fully.

Lastly, if you’d like to be added to Ate Media’s email newsletter, please fill out the “email” field.

(I’m very respectful of your personal information and promise you that any other demographic information you choose to enter into my survey will be for my eyes only and not be passed onto any third party.)

This giveaway is open to anyone worldwide (S/H on me!) and will close on July 5, 2011 at 12:00AM UTC/GMT +8 hours.

This contest is now closed. The winner will be chosen by random.org and be announced on July 8, 2011.

The winner of a copy of Nostalgia is the Most Powerful Seasoning by Joycelyn Shu is Kathleen Y. of Singapore! Kathleen, the book is in the mail. Shoot me an email when you receive it.

One response