Veira by Wey Ling

I am always on the look-out for roomy, functional bags. I tend to carry a lot of stuff: iPod, sunglasses, light cardigan, my Moleskine notebooks, pencils, several issues of The New Yorker, a book, a camera. So when I returned to PARCO next NEXT (as promised), I was immediately drawn to Veira‘s feminine, vintage, quirky creations. As you can probably guess, I’m a sucker for postal and paper motifs.

Designer Wee Ling’s S/S 2011 debut collection, “Vintage Voyager,” explores classic travel and mail silhouettes. She uses sturdy, high-quality canvas, calf leather trims, and brass hardware to create “pieces are perfect for a fabulous weekend getaway or everyday use.”

Malaysia-born Wee Ling is, like me, an engineer-turned-creative type. She graduated with a degree in civil engineering from the National University of Singapore and was part of the team that built the Hotel and SkyPark at Marina Bay Sands. But because of her “deep affection for accessories,” she made the leap and started Veira. “It has been mad crazy since,” she told me. “I’m loving it!”

o o o o o

Veira can also be found at Rockstar by Soon LeeSnap Shop, and online. Connect on Facebook and follow on Twitter.

(Additional credits: Photographs via Veira. Used with permission.)

One response

  1. What a cute brand. I also carry a lot. I don’t even carry diapers any more and I feel like I carry more than before. I don’t understand…

    What a career change Wee Ling has. How cool that she was part of the team that built the Hotel and Sky Park at Marina Bay Sands and now she has her own brand. What a talent!!