Detour: Macau

Hong Kong is a crazy, bustling, overwhelming, grimy, edgy, beautiful city. I’d move to Hong Kong in a heartbeat if it weren’t for the air pollution that “[casts] a gray pall over the harbor and [obscures] views of Hong Kong’s famed skyline” *cough cough*.

o o o o o

That said, we had a fabulous time in Hong Kong these past five days. We traipsed around Sheung Wan and Wan Chai; shopped in Causeway Bay; ate in Kowloon; met with friends and family in Admiralty, Ap Lei Chau, and the Mid-Levels; and made a pilgrimage to Po Lin Monastery and the Big Buddha on Lantau. When a steady, cold rain put a damper on our long weekend hiking plans, we hopped on the ferry and went off to Macau.

The absolute highlights of our quick jaunt to Macau were the Portuguese egg tarts and the Macanese almond cookies.

Macau
Macau
Macau
Macau
Macau

If you go: Plan for at least an hour plus to make your way through immigration at the Macau ferry terminal. It’s a mess.

3 responses

  1. I have not been to Macau, but my Pavlovian response when I saw your post was “egg tarts”. Thanks for the immigration heads-up.

  2. These are gorgeous photos. I love what you captured. I would love to visit Hong Kong someday. I haven’t been there even though I’ve been in the neighboring (sort of) countries. One day…

    My husband loves egg tarts. Air pollution is a problem in any big city. Here in Jakarta, too.