Singapore Shopaholic: Woods in the Books

For a small city with a number of large, chain stores, Singapore, surprisingly, has several thriving independent bookstores. My favorites so far? BooksActually, Basheer Graphic Books, and Woods in the Books: The Picture Book Shop.

I find so much inspiration at Woods in the Books. I can spend hours browsing through owners Mike Foo and Shannon Ong’s handpicked collection of picture books, graphic novels, and comic books. The white walled and inviting shop carries work by house favorite, French cartoonist Jean-Jacques Sempé; quirky graphic novels; pop-up versions of The Little Prince and The Wizard of Oz; and of course, classic books such as Goodnight Moon and Where the Wild Things Are.

The shop is also part gallery and showcases framed, limited-edition prints by several up-and-coming local artists, including Mike (AKA moof). The last time I was there, I spotted these delightful giclee prints by “Twisstii.”

I dare not call Woods in the Books a “children’s book shop.” There is a common misperception that picture books are exclusively intended for the very young. They are not. I would venture a guess that both Shannon and Mike would agree with me that the picture book is a form of literature for people of all ages.

^ That’s Mr. Scotti, Woods in the Books‘ “big boss.” Follow his adventures on the Woods in the Books blog.

o o o o o

A friendly reminder: Learn more about picture books at the UNESCO-NIE Centre for Arts Research in Education (CARE) Forum Series’ The Picture Book as Art Object: A Panel Discussion on Thursday, May 19 from 7:30pm to 9:30pm at The Pigeonhole. RSVP on Facebook.

(Additional credits: Photographs via Woods in the Books’ blog. Used with permission. Tape strip clip art via Pugly Pixel. Scallop medallion via Pugly Pixel.)

7 responses

  1. @Kelley, my understanding is that many things have changed w/r/t the retail landscape in Singapore recently and there have been a number of independent shops that have popped up in the past few years. (WitB opened in 2010, if I am not mistaken.) Perhaps you are due for a return visit? *hint hint*

  2. What a great find. Thank you for sharing. I’ll be heading over to the Woods in the Books blog to learn more about Mike’s and Sharon’s story and, of course, to check out Mr. Scotti!

  3. I recently passed by here and love this post because now I can see what’s inside.

    Wow… that second photo… never seen a pop up book that beautiful before. It’s a work of art.

    Scotti is so pretty!

  4. What a coincidence! My gf and I are intending to check out a couple of quaint and independent shops this Sat. On our list are actually some of the shops that you have featured in your blog. Woods in the books is 1 of them :)