Making Macarons with Weylin of Only Slightly Pretentious Food


Singapore is macaron-mad. Nearly every pâtisserie that I’ve been to carries several flavors, from café, rose, citron, and framboise to bergamote orange (Canelé) and peanut butter (ET Artisan Sweets). And it seems that every blogger, baker, and home chef who I have met has also attempted to make—from scratch!—these most temperamental and unpredictable French pastries.

o o o o o

This weekend, I joined Weylin of Only Slightly Pretentious Food in her home kitchen to play “macaron serf” and help her whip up a batch of caramel fleur de sel macarons. She’s a wonderful Macaron Mentor. The day-long process of making these little confections doesn’t seem so daunting anymore.

One of these days, I will take on the challenge of making macarons on my own. But for now, I’m quite happy eating these.

7 responses

  1. Oh my gosh, did you make those in the picture? Bravo! They got such pretty feet! Please post the recipe! Funny you mention macarons, I was planning to practice making them during the long weekend coming up!

  2. @Jeanne, the operative word is “help.” Weylin is the whiz in the kitchen, not me ;). @Min, agreed. It’s wonderful to have a friend and mentor to make macarons with.

  3. Oh, I swoon for caramel fleur de sel macarons. Swoon, swoon, swooning over here. So it seems *less* daunting? On what upcoming occasion would you try them again?

  4. @Ev, the process is time consuming and has LOTS of room for error. But provides extreme satisfaction. We’ve got a few birthdays and anniversaries coming up in the next few months…

  5. When I first started, I threw so much macaronage into the dumps. I’m still very cautious when I make them, as once you drop your defences at any one point, you can easily lose control over the situation and these cookie divas won’t rise to the occasion (no pun intended!). But it is also because of their challenging nature, that it definitely very gratifying when you achieve success!