the artist and his model by Yanda

It’s a challenge to build a life, career, and professional network on the other side of the world. That said, I’ve been very blessed to have met some incredibly talented people on this tiny island. All the locals and expats I’ve met so far in Singapore are kind, open-minded, and giving.

I’m thankful to so many of them who have taken out time from their busy days to make time for me: a passionate artist and educator, a virtual stranger, an American with a blog.

o o o o o

The other day, I met Yanda of the beautiful blog, the artist and his model. He is a print and interactive designer and “dabbles in curating, blogging, surfing, reading and a whole lot of thinking.” He is warm and humble and generous with his knowledge. I enjoyed our conversation and learned much about the local arts and design scene from him.

His blog is such an inspiration. Yanda not only showcases the best in design in Singapore, but highlights artists I rarely read about elsewhere. We share a love of typography and the book arts and I enjoy reading about the book projects he uncovers from various corners of the web.

Two forthcoming exhibits, curated by Yanda: THEN NOW NEXT (23 April to 22 May at Fred Perry Laurel Wreath Shop, 19 Ann Siang Road), which presents the stories of 18 individuals and collectives who have contributed to shaping and inspiring the growth of the cultural scene in Singapore, and I Have A Room With Everything (dates TBA at Night and Day, 139 Selegie Road), a free-to-touch, free-to-browse graphic design exhibition featuring printed materials.

Add his blog to your reader and follow him on Twitter.

(Additional credits: Top to bottom: Traumgedanken, Maria Fischer,  2010; Hybrid Novels, Alberto Hernández of Here I Go, 2009; Ordered by Chance, Joe Kwan of Studiowill, 2008. All via the artist and his model.)

3 responses

  1. Thank you so much for all your lovely introductions! It’s always great to read up on creative and expressive blogs… an outlet from the usual routine of life and work.

    By the way, I’ll certainly be getting my hands on A Tiger in the Kitchen! Love Julie & Julia so I’ve a feeling I’ll enjoy reading this book too.