Singapore Street Style and Men’s Fashion Week Asia

Singapore can be described with many wonderful adjectives, but I’m not sure I’d include “fashionable” as one of them. When I was in New York City, I would be inspired daily by they way people chose clothes and accessories to express themselves. Here, not so much. Instead, I turn to a handful of blogs that cover Singapore “street style”—namely The Arriviste by friend and fellow expat and ONESIXTYNOTEPAD by three young Singaporean fashionistos—for my fashion fix.

Many people have told me that it’s Singapore’s tropical climate that hinders one’s sartorial splendor. Much easier to wear flip-flops, shorts, and a t-shirt and call it a day, they say. I get it. It’s blazingly hot here. I, for one, have had to put aside my signature leggings, riding boots, and silk scarves for more linen pants, peep-toe shoes, and light layers.

o o o o o

For the past five days, the city played host to the inaugural Men’s Fashion Week Asia, the first dedicated menswear week on the continent and the third after Paris and Milan. I suppose the hope is that such events will make Singapore a fashion destination in addition to a shopping destination.

Overall, the first Men’s Fashion Week Asia was entertaining and competent. My only real complaint was the venue. The runway was constructed in the Expo and Convention Centre at The Shoppes at Marina Bay Sands. On one of the afternoons, the annual Offshore Asia Conference and Exhibition was taking place next door. Oh, how I miss the tents!

Prior to the event, I was particularly interested in viewing Thursday night’s Singapore showcase featuring Reckless Erika, ELOHIMEvenodd and Atzu. The show did not disappoint. The energy in the room was infectious and it was heartening to see such support for these young, up and coming local talents.

o o o o o

A few of my favorite collections from the week:

Far and away, my favorite show was G.I.L. Homme by Eun Gil. It was layered, thoughtful, and dramatic.

Even from my seat, I could see Joey Samson‘s impeccable craftsmanship.

Shanghai Tang premiered its A/W 2011/2012 men’s collection in Singapore.

(Additional credits: Photographs via Men’s Fashion Week Asia. Full disclosure: I had a media pass and access to all the week’s events.)

3 responses

  1. I too have had to give up my leggings and boots. Oh, how I long to wear opaque tights and scarves! But I do find it hard to come up with interesting outfits in this kind of weather (and I’ve noticed that people tend to gravitate in two very different directions: either very casual or party-ready), which is why is why I’m always on the lookout for a uniform that’s effortless and stylish. I definitely captured two great looking girls today (the 2nd of whom will be posted tomorrow). But I’m still on the lookout for my uniform!

  2. I’m still rocking my maxi dress/flip flop/scarf uniform from California. I think my neighbors just think I’m eccentric.