My Singapore: Sabrina Goh of ELOHIM


I discovered fashion designer Sabrina Goh‘s androgynous garments at her flagship store in Orchard Central several weeks ago. And then, the other day, I spotted her tailored leggings and “Folded Ruffles Toga Top” at Blackmarket on Jalan Pisang. What attracts me to Sabrina’s designs are her choice of fabric and her sculptural construction.

So, I’m quite delighted to welcome Sabrina to notabilia. She launched her A/W 2011 men’s collection, PARACHUTE, at Men’s Fashion Week Asia last night at the event’s ‘Singapore Showcase.’

Sabrina is a Malaysian-born, Singapore-based designer. She graduated from LASALLE-SIA College of the Arts and worked as an in-house stylist for a number of regional brands before launching her own line, ELOHIM, in 2009. Find her on Facebook, follow her on Twitter, and add her blog to your reader.

Over to Sabrina…

Must-eats?

Coffee is a MUST for me. My current favourite coffee shop is Tully’s Coffee at Orchard Central. My current favourite cafe is Hairloom and Caramel, a hair salon + a coffee shop + a home. I love the cozy interior and creative home decor; it’s very nice to spend the afternoon there, eating their in-house made desserts and cakes.

Must-shops?

I have seldom shopped after launching my own label. I wear my clothes almost every day!

But, I would say my preferred local shop is ALLDRESSEDUP. I like the brand because it is bold, with colors and unexpected details. They have a range of products, from clothing to accessories to handbags, and the quality is marvelous.

Must-dos?

I love Books Kinokuniya. I like to surround myself with books and magazines and there is where I get inspiration and get inspired. I also love Basheer Graphic Books at Bras Basah Complex. They carry books that you just can’t find at the big bookstores.

o o o o o

Need directions? Check out notabilia’s My Singapore guide!

Know a creative person who wants to share his or her must-stop spots with my readers? Please email all suggestions to me with the subject line ‘My Singapore.’

(Additional credits: Headshot provided by Sabrina Goh. Photographs from ELOHIM’s A/W 2010 women’s RTW collection via the ELOHIM e-shop. Special thanks to Men’s Fashion Week Asia.)

4 responses

  1. I love Elohim stuff, there’s always some interesting detail, even if it looks like just an LBD! I also love that there’s now a dedicated Elohim boutique! =)