PARCO next NEXT and max.tan

Another item to add to my “learning more about” list: Singapore fashion.

Again, I’m quite familiar with American, European, Indian, and Japanese designers. Items by some of my favorites hang in my closet. And I can’t count the number of times I visited the Costume Institute at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. But slowly, over the past few months, I’ve been getting to know several local and regional designers as well.

o o o o o

PARCO next NEXT, a joint initiative between Parco Singapore, a department store, and the Textile and Fashion Federation, an industry organization, provides aspiring designers with the start-up infrastructure needed to kick-start their creative businesses. PARCO next NEXT is currently showcasing 24 designers. It was here that I chanced upon max.tan. From the label’s S/S 2011 collection:

Neither of these images showcase Tan’s obsessions with structure, minimalism and androgyny. He calls his garments “intellectual.” I tend to agree. Do check out two of my favorite pieces from this collection: the jersey Draped Handkerchief Cardigan and the very wearable “Ling Ling” Dress.

(Additional credits: Photographs via max.tan. Used with permission.)

3 responses

  1. Big LOVE! So polished and chic!

    Are you going review Raoul by any chance? I can’t get enuv of them. Wish they were here in US!