Brushstrokes by Roy Lichtenstein

One of my favorite American artists… in Singapore?

Yep. Singapore Brushstrokes, 1997, is Roy Lichtenstein’s last major outdoor installation.

Lichtenstein began making multi-colored, planar sculptures in the 1970s. His sculptures, like his paintings, are often colored with Benday dots and hard black outlines. Singapore Brushstrokes was fabricated in Bristol, Rhode Island and installed at the Roy Lichtenstein Sculpture Plaza, Millenia Singapore in June/July 1997. Other works from Lichtenstein’s Brushstrokes series can be found in Washington D.C., Tokyo, Madrid, Portland, Boston, and Philadelphia.

o o o o

Singapore Brushstrokes is one of the stops on Marina Bay’s public art trail (PDF map) which includes 20 sculptures by local and international artists. I admit, I didn’t complete the 6km walk. The sun was setting and the light was most unsuitable for taking photographs.

o o o o o

If you go, know that the plaza that houses Singapore Brushstrokes is cordoned off due to construction. Anyone know when it is scheduled to reopen?

One response

  1. As my daughter put it tonight: who took photos of Papa’s work’s? She actually meant that her dad works right at the top of Millenia tower and that we see the sculptures every time we are there. Shame on me because I never really checked out who made them… thanks for opening my eyes once again ;).