Visit to the National Orchid Garden

Just before I left the United States, I found a copy of Orchid Growing in the Tropics (Times Editions Pte. Ltd., 1993) in a used bookshop. This handbook by the Orchid Society of Southeast Asia Singapore is full of of gorgeous photographs. Reading it made me want to grow my own orchids.

This desire is particularly harebrained because I have never successfully grown anything before and orchids are known to be somewhat moody. I’m also lacking a proper garden, but I do have a spot of outdoor space that might be perfect for a few containers.

Onwards and upwards, right?

o o o o o

Step one to learn all there is to know about orchids? A visit to the National Orchid Garden. The Garden’s collection includes 1,000 species and 2,000 hybrids. About 600 species and hybrids are on display. This permanent showcase is the largest display of tropical orchids in the world! I took nearly 200 photographs during my visit this afternoon; here are two of my favorites.

2 responses

  1. I used to intern at an ad agency run by the president of the Orchid Society… and spent about a month of my internship laying out their book. It took me YEARS to recover enough to actually buy my own for the apartment!

  2. I like the photo of the almost-pink orchid… can’t decide if it’s purple or pink. I have never tried to do it myself, but I am sure you could. I have seen them grown in pots, but I am too lazy to do it myself.