Singapore Shopaholic: hansel [Updated]

The other day, I walked by Stamford House on my way to the library. This restored, historic building has a number of well-curated boutiques on the ground floor, including that of Singapore-based label, hansel. Named after designer Jo Soh’s beloved Jack Russell Terrier, hansel made its debut at Mercedes Australian Fashion Week in 2003.

o o o o o

Those of you who know me in real life know that I am a “dress girl” and have more dresses than I know what to do with. Still, I could have bought the v-neck puff sleeve knit dress, the kimono shirt dress, or the roll collar loose shift dress (all below).

Not only does the flagship store carry Soh’s feminine designs, it also carries her quirky stationery. Check out hansel’s “retro spec” greeting cards. Fun, right? AND, hansel sells handmade, one-of-a-kind merchandise by Singaporean and non-Singaporean artists. The day I was there, I spotted these adorable vintage bow-tie notecards by Brooklyn-based designer, little red fox.

More from the label’s lace- and pearl-inspired autumn/winter 2010 line, Lily the Lady, can be found in hansel’s look book. Soh’s line is sold in Singapore, Hong Kong, Japan, and Malaysia. My dear American friends: Shopflick sells hansel online.

UPDATE: As of 12/10, hansel has relocated to Mandarin Gallery, Shop 02-14.

(Additional credits: Photographs via hansel online shop; Scallop medallion via Pugly Pixel.)

2 responses

  1. Wow, wow, I love the style!!

    Another Singaporean brand I heart is Raoul. There is (was) a beautiful handbag that I failed to buy and it stuck in my head until this moment!