Visit to the National Library Building

I have loved to read for longer than I can remember. When I was younger and had more time (and less responsibilities), I would read three to five books a week. Now, I manage three to five books a month!

Reading helps me understand my place in the world. Reading makes me realize how much I don’t know and how much I have left to learn.

o o o o o

I have loved libraries for longer than I can remember. As a child, the library was the center of my life, my home away from home. In New York City, I visited the library at least once a week.

o o o o o

Today, I popped by the National Library building, a gorgeous, modern, sixteen-story building on Victoria Street to pick up some books about Singapore.

I spent several hours lost in the stacks, overwhelmed by my choices. Should I read about architecture or photography? About orchids or dance? I wanted to check out fifty books but brought home five. I can’t wait to stick my nose in their pages and share my newfound knowledge with you.

4 responses

  1. Oh, how I understand you…reading has been my number one pleasure for all my life, too bad after my son was born my reading activity has slowed down significantly. Actually, I still read quite a lot, but sadly mostly on the Internet…and this can’t compare with reading a good book!