Singapore Swing

We told our friends and colleagues: “To Singapore!”

They said: “Singapore? That’s… far.”

They asked me: “What will you do, dear culture vulture/word nerd/creative geek/bougie bohemian?” You see, most Americans still think of the Lion City as a clean and orderly – but prissy – Asian megalopolis full of soulless capitalists short on cultural capital.

I said: “Discover the soul of another great city.” Apparently, one doesn’t “have to look far to find echoes of the island’s colourful, rakish past, or evidence of a thriving and creatively unfettered artistic community.

o o o o o

We’re here now.

I am armed with my camera, my computer, a map, my Lonely Planet guide book, and two handy publications for expats–The Complete Residents’ Guide to Singapore and Living in Singapore–and I’m determined to find the Singapore that Westerners know little about. Along the way, I know I’ll do lots of touristy things too: visit the Singapore Zoo, take a ride on the Singapore Flyer, shop on Orchard Road, play Blackjack at the Marina Bay Sands Singapore.

Join me on my little adventure to learn some history, be inspired by pretty things, meet creative people, and make this little island home for a while.

10 responses

  1. Yesss! I’m the first commenter to welcome you to your new home and tell you how much I’m looking forward to vicarious Singapore swinging!

  2. Hurrah!!!! I want to join you! I want to go everywhere, and I have a special request to tag along on food adventures. Tell me about where the food comes from, all the mixing of cultures that gets sauteed up together, and most of all–every detail about what it tastes like.

    Congratulations on the new adventure. I miss you already.

  3. You made it! So looking forward to your journey. I have two friends in Singapore so you will probably run into them as well.

  4. Congratulations!! How exciting! I lived in Singapore between 1992 and 1995 and I loved it. Last time I visited Singapore was 4 years ago and so much has changed. I loved living in S’pore, so I hope it’ll be the same for you. Now I live in Jakarta, Indonesia with my family. I’m your neighbor! I look forward to your photos and adventures in Singapore in the coming years and your trip to the neighboring countries! If you come to Jakarta, let me know! xo Kaho

  5. Well, so you finally made it to Singapore, congratulations! Never been there but people who lived there loved it. Good luck for your new adventure!