Cooking with… Sherie of maameemoomoo: a 1/2 food blog

Shortly before the Chinese New Year, I spotted a recipe for kek lapis (Indonesian layer cake) with cranberry making the rounds on Twitter. I Tweeted the talented baker back and asked her about other local and regional desserts.

“There are desserts aplenty in Singapore!” she shot back in an email and provided me a long list of ones to try. Today, I am delighted to welcome Sherie, the baker behind that kek lapis, blogger at maameemoomoo: a 1/2 food blog, yogini, and mother to three adorable boys, to notabilia!

To Sherie…

o o o o o

Kuih, also known as kueh or kue, is a general term for bite-sized sweet snacks or desserts found in Singapore, Malaysia, and Indonesia.

Kuih keria is a doughnut made with sweet potatoes. It is often tossed in sugar syrup (which crystallizes into a glaze) and eaten at any time during the day—in the morning during breakfast or late in the afternoon with tea.

Kuih kerias sold by street vendors are not purple, but orange. So why is mine purple? Because I’ve been fortunate enough to find purple sweet potatoes in the wet market! Purple sweet potatoes are not that common and rather difficult to find. The first thought that raced through the mind when I spied these gems was, I need to use them for my guest post on notabilia!

Don’t worry if you can’t find purple sweet potatoes. Purple or orange, these kuihs are equally delicious.

Kuih Keria

For doughnuts:
500g sweet potatoes (peeled and steamed until fully cooked)
30g tapioca flour
60g all-purpose flour
oil for frying

For glaze:
200g granulated sugar
70ml water

To make doughnuts:
1. Mash sweet potatoes until very fine. Add tapioca flour and all-purpose flour to the potatoes. Knead to form a soft dough. Shape dough into balls and make a hole in the center.

2. Heat oil in large saucepan or wok. Deep fry the rings until they are golden.

3. Drain well.

To make glaze:
1. Boil sugar and water in a wok until it bubbles and thickens. Turn off heat and drop in the rings. Toss well in the syrup and remove.

Once the sugar crystallizes, the kuihs are ready to be served. Kuih keria is really quite simple to make. Unlike regular doughnuts, which need to be proofed twice, these kuihs can be fried straight away as they do not contain yeast. Really quite fuss free.

So what are you waiting for? Make some today!

o o o o o

Thanks, Sherie. I look forward to our durian high tea at Goodwood Park Hotel. Yes, readers, Sherie loves durian as much I do.

I welcome recipes from Singapore and beyond for Cooking with…. Priority is given to original recipes that have not yet appeared online. Please indicate if your recipe has already appeared online or has been submitted elsewhere. Please email all recipes, including high-quality .jpgs, to me with the subject line ‘Recipes.’

(Additional credits: Photographs by Sherie of maameemoomoo: a 1/2 food blog; geometric watercolor pattern via August Empress.)

17 responses

  1. Holy sweet tubers, I must have these doughnuts NOW! N and Maameemoomoo, why must you torture me so?!? How am I going to make it through the rest of the day? SIGH.

  2. I really love the purple, and I am so ashamed to say that I have never had this kuih before! Looks really good! BTW, I want in on the durian high tea when I return to Singapore for hols! I love durians too! And yes, after all this correspondence, I would love to meet both of you to put faces to the names!

  3. That photo is stunning! The purple against the grey – so beautiful!

    I love the taste of purple sweet potatoes made into a dessert. Your post makes me want to go learn how to make it right now. Totally inspiring.

  4. To think I’ve never even heard of kuih keria before! It just awes me that the shockingly vivid purple is a gift from nature, no food colouring nonsense. Bet it tastes great too, shall have to hunt some down!

  5. pleasure monger: WHAT? NEVER?! must fatten you up next time.

    pickyin: geddit soon, before the season’s over ;).

    happy.bark.days: it’s almost carb free! *wink*

    jennifer: thank you! nothing like taro at all. two very different root vegetables ;).

    bookjunkie : thanks dear! it’s really very simple. and if you love sweet potatos, this is the snack that u gotta make because it totally brings out the flavour.

    dot: tell me about it. i is no fan of food colouring as well! au naturel is the best!

    john : awww.. johnny boy! *sniffs* u are the sweetest laaa! heee!

  6. I’m adding this recipe to my to-do list but I have a few questions…

    How do they get fluffy considering you use no yeast or baking powder? Do you think baking them will result in the same goodness?

  7. Theselook amazingly beautiful AND oh so tasty!! I shall have to try them very soon, alas with only ordinary orange sweet potatoes… oh well!

  8. xtemujin : thank you. if i see any, i’ll update you. ;)

    bogdan : sorry for the late reply. they are really soft with chewy texture but definitely not fluffy like how doughnuts are. baking huh? nope! definitely won’t yield the same result, just like how baked doughnuts will never be the same as fried doughnuts.

    skylar : thank you… but orange or purple, as long as it’s sweet potato, your kuih keria will still taste yummilicious!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 265 other followers